Cryptostorm and OPNsense

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)
omgitslurch
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 6:05 am

Cryptostorm and OPNsense

Post by omgitslurch » Mon Jan 10, 2022 6:15 am

Has anyone been able to get Cryptostorm to work fully on OPNsense? I am testing Cryptostorm as an alternative to my current VPN provider, and it appears to connect ok using OpenVPN but also tried Wireguard and it connected ok. However, no matter what I try, can see outgoing bytes increase, but the incoming bytes don't. Soon as I setup my original VPN provider again in OPNsense it all works without issue. I followed the pfsense guide to configure the VPN as setup is normally pretty much identical just UI differences. Is there some sort of configuration quirk in order to get it to pass traffic successfully? As would have expected it to have worked almost identically once connected.

User avatar
parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1275
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Cryptostorm and OPNsense

Post by parityboy » Tue Feb 22, 2022 9:22 pm

@OP

That sounds like a NAT and/or firewall issue. I'm not familiar with OPNsense so i don't know how things are laid out, but I would look in the NAt rules and then the firewall rules first. :thumbup:

opns670user
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2022 3:08 pm

Re: Cryptostorm and OPNsense

Post by opns670user » Sat Apr 23, 2022 3:12 pm

i can assure you this works. but it took me canceling almost twice and about 6 hours to figure out...

for compression you must choose :

enabled stub algorithm

i am using ed448

Post Reply