Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

DNS Settings

A core mission of cryptostorm is ensuring consistent, reliable network security with minimal fuss & drama. From DNS-based services like our DeepDNS in-browser native .onion/.i2p site access, through grounbreaking research on IP6 leakblocking, & to firewall-based structures to enable "fail-closed" security, this is where we discuss & develop cryptostorm-style leakblock tech.
User avatar

Topic Author
kelltech
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:49 pm

DNS Settings

Post by kelltech » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:18 pm

I'm sorry but I don't fully understand everything I'd like to know about DNS settings and DNS leaks, etc.

When I go to ipleak.net, I usually see my IP address as whatever exitnode I'm using but my detected dns addresses are all over the place. Sometimes it will just say Berlin no matter which exitnode I use, sometimes it says Canada, sometimes Berlin and Canada together and sometimes it shows 8 to 10 detected dns addresses in California! I can say I haven't seen my actual location, but is this a problem?

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1206
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: DNS Settings

Post by parityboy » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:32 pm

@kelltech

As long as the DNS address that show up are not your ISP's or Google's, you should be OK. :) Below are the addresses pushed by Cryptostorm when you connect (taken from my resolv.conf).
# Cryptostorm DNS Servers
# nameserver 198.100.146.51
# nameserver 76.74.205.228
# nameserver 213.73.91.35
# nameserver 91.191.136.152

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: DNS Settings

Post by marzametal » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:16 am

As a bit of a backup, like... a "just in case"... enter two of the above DNS addresses in:
Phone - OpenVPN for Android (replace the two Google DNS entries)
Windows - Physical NIC (adapter settings)

User avatar

Topic Author
kelltech
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:49 pm

Re: DNS Settings

Post by kelltech » Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:58 am

Excellent, thank you guys :thumbup: :thumbup:

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: DNS Settings

Post by Tealc » Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:39 am

I actually by default use in all my routers/modem/android devices the following:

192.121.170.170
176.10.127.43
188.165.25.65
37.187.0.40
88.82.108.30

ALL OpenNIC and community checked ;)
I loved OpenWrt :D

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: DNS Settings

Post by marzametal » Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:08 pm

I have noticed extra DNS servers showing up in the widget config screen. Most of them are not listed on this thread. I've asked support to check it out.

Post Reply