Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

widget v3

Looking for a bit more than customer support, and want to learn more about what cryptostorm is , what we've been announcing lately, and how the cryptostorm network makes the magic? This is a great place to start, so make yourself at home!

DudeOfLondon
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: widget v3

Post by DudeOfLondon » Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:48 am

Thanks.

I got a problem though.
When using UDP I can't browse any site, it hangs there on "TLS handshake with www.12324.com ..." in the browser status line.
Doesn't matter which server or ECC cuve. Also tried different ports, doesn't matter, it does not work with UDP.
When switching to TCP I can browse the web.

What can I do? WHy does UDP not work? I'm on Windows 10, no firewall insalled except the win10 integrated one.

EDIT: Same exact problem and behavior on my android device!


DudeOfLondon
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: widget v3

Post by DudeOfLondon » Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:41 am

So it seems this must be an MTU problem that is only present when using UDP.
I found out that the MTU of my router is 1440 for the bonding tunnel of the DSL+LTE connection.
Minus 28 for UDP should be a link mtu of 1412 and a tunnnel MTU or tun-mtu of 1362.

If I edit the OVPN config file and enter tun-mtu=1362 internet works on my android. (or enter 1362 in the tunnel mtu field of the GUI of Anre Schwabe's app).

But how can I edit the inbuilt configs of the widget to use a different MTU than default?


AnonAsPossible
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:49 am

Re: widget v3

Post by AnonAsPossible » Tue Mar 26, 2019 10:31 pm

I don't use their widget, only the openvpn gui.

You should contact their support at; support@cryptostorm.is , the response is usually quite fast.

And post their response here, so we can all learn...

User avatar

Topic Author
df
Site Admin
Posts: 404
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: widget v3

Post by df » Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:34 am

DudeOfLondon: secp521r1 is default because it is more secure than Ed448 or Ed25519, but because it's an NIST curve we decided to also provide Ed25519/Ed448 options.
And there's no such thing as security overkill :-P

Post Reply