Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)

Topic Author
xtacles

No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by xtacles » Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:03 am

Newbie to forums. Searched as far as I can try to find a similar, relevant thread for my issue. Apologies if there is one. Please direct me to that if so.

As of earlier this week, I cannot connect using the Narwhal 2.2 client. Using Windows 10. Have successfully used on Windows 10 (and previously Windows 7) for nearly one year, no issues. My key is valid, so not an issue with that.

When trying to connect, I no longer see any connection data displaying in the box below the login status/progress bar. I then receive the error "Connect took longer than 60 seconds. Retrying."

Freezes also at the point of "Disabling iPV6", even though iPV6 is disabled. Previously, I was seeing data in the box below the status bar. Tried the Microsoft fix of uninstall everything (and manual deletion of residual files) and reinstall after reboot > no change.

Thoughts / suggestions please?

Thank you.
Attachments
issue.JPG

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by parityboy » Mon Jan 25, 2016 6:09 pm

@OP

Windows 10 has received numerous updates in the last 12 months. Can we assume you've been applying them?


Topic Author
xtacles

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by xtacles » Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:07 am

parityboy wrote:@OP

Windows 10 has received numerous updates in the last 12 months. Can we assume you've been applying them?
Thanks for the reply, parityboy. You assume correctly in that my Windows 10 updates have taken place and have been applied. Still no difference to the connectivity issue. Last update was on 14 January, however, connectivity worked well after that and only stopped around 19-20 January.


Khariz
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Khariz » Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:44 am

Uncheck the IPv6 junk in the settings. Just disable IPv6 in the adapter completely. It's so much smoother sailing not letting narwhal screw with it.

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Tealc » Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:51 pm

@xtacles
WARNING: Windows 10 and CS widget 2.2 leaks dns!

You're better in getting the latest version of OpenVPN (https://swupdate.openvpn.org/community/ ... x86_64.exe) and using this plugin (https://github.com/ValdikSS/openvpn-fix-dns-leak-plugin) with the *.ovpn conf file.

- Just copy fix-dns-leak-64.dll to x:/full_path_to/OpenVPN/bin
- Them add "plugin fix-dns-leak-64.dll" to the *.ovpn conf file


Khariz
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Khariz » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:58 pm

Tealc,

According to the documentation on that github page, the DNS leaks were fixed in OpenVPN 2.3.9 and later (and you linked 2.3.10). That DLL appears to be a Windows Vista file, and does not load properly in Windows 10 for me, thus preventing me from connecting in OpenVPN. The Github indicates that the DNS leak is resolved in 2.3.9+, so I think we are okay as long as we aren't using the widget.

Edit: I saw the response in the Widget v3 thread. I can't get the DLL to load in Windows 10, when called by Open VPN
Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 1.09.55 PM.png
Last edited by Khariz on Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Tealc » Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:10 am

That's actually not true, at all!
I know they say that's include but it's not true it leaks like a "bitch".

I'm currently running OpenVPN 2.3.10 with Windows 10 Home and when you start the program with "--block-outside-dns" (if you don't do this it leaks, since the program doesn't start it automatically) it shout's and error saying that option isn't valid, you could just "openvpn-gui.exe --help" and there you will see all the options, this "--block-outside-dns" is not there.

The dll file I quoted is for the 64bit version of OpenVPN, you should put it in full_path/to/openvpn/bin them you should edit your *.ovpn conf file and after the "client" put the line "plugin fix-dns-leak-64.dll"

You shouldn't run the dll... it's only readable by the OpenVPN GUI

Don't forget to run the OpenVPN has administrator!

Tealc
Khariz wrote:Tealc,

According to the documentation on that github page, the DNS leaks were fixed in OpenVPN 2.3.9 and later (and you linked 2.3.10). That DLL appears to be a Windows Vista file, and does not load properly in Windows 10 for me, thus preventing me from connecting in OpenVPN. The Github indicates that the DNS leak is resolved in 2.3.9+, so I think we are okay as long as we aren't using the widget.


Khariz
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Khariz » Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:42 am

So, I've been messing around with "--block-outside-dns" since the DLL files don't work for me. I think I figured out the problem. It's kind of silly. openvpn-gui.exe doesn't accept the argument --block-outside-dns, but openvpn.exe itself does.

Doesn't that just mean that we could make it a standard .ovpn configuration option? Just put "block-outside-dns" as an option under client?

Edit: Yep, that works. It causes the following line to magically appear in the log:

Fri Feb 26 14:43:54 2016 Blocking outside DNS

It works! You just use the command as an argument in the .ovpn file, not when calling the GUI executable in the first place.

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Tealc » Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:55 am

This is really strange, but why do with me it works with the dll and with that "solution" you put? Now how do I know each one to use?

EDIT: Funny fact, I needed to add "verb 5" to the conf file so I could see if the option was enable or not, so I recommend that CS change ALL ovpn conf files to have this option in them.

Fri Feb 26 22:05:41 2016 us=926059 block_outside_dns = ENABLED
Khariz wrote:So, I've been messing around with "--block-outside-dns" since the DLL files don't work for me. I think I figured out the problem. It's kind of silly. openvpn-gui.exe doesn't accept the argument --block-outside-dns, but openvpn.exe itself does.

Doesn't that just mean that we could make it a standard .ovpn configuration option? Just put "block-outside-dns" as an option under client?

Edit: Yep, that works. It causes the following line to magically appear in the log:

Fri Feb 26 14:43:54 2016 Blocking outside DNS

It works! You just use the command as an argument in the .ovpn file, not when calling the GUI executable in the first place.


Khariz
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Khariz » Sat Feb 27, 2016 1:59 am

According to the author of the plugin, the advantage to the plugin method is that if the program crashes, and the DLL unloads it would revert the DNS to pre-plugin state. I'm not sure I would consider that an advantage. Using the block-outside-dns argument seems like it might even double as a sort of "killswitch" if OpenVPN crashes but leaves the DNS settings attached to the internal TAP route.

Granted a "killswitch" that may freak out casual users when they can no longer go to any web pages.


Khariz
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Khariz » Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:59 am

LOL! I figured out what I was doing wrong. I always forget that you can't download individual files in Github by right-clicking and saving-as. So I was downloading an html filled called "DNS-leak-64.dll" instead the of the actual library itself.

It works just fine when I'm not being stupid.


Khariz
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Khariz » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:29 am

Just had a conversation with the author of the plugin. He says this about the plugin:

"Anyway, please use block-outside-dns OpenVPN option. With newer OpenVPN versions this plugin is obsolete. The only thing that there's a bug in OpenVPN 2.3.10 block-outside-dns which prevents it from working on Windows Vista, it would be fixed in OpenVPN 2.3.11."

@Tealc I'm not sure why you still leak DNS when you use the block-outside-dns option, but I don't. I guess the same results whether I use the plugin or the option.


Topic Author
JDR

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by JDR » Mon Jul 18, 2016 12:34 am

I only recently decide to try Cryptostorm. It worked during a free trial, so I paid. Now, I have the problem in this thread, and see no solution. I'm poorer and going back to Private Internet Access.

User avatar

Fermi
Site Admin
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:42 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Fermi » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:14 am

Hi JDR,

This is perhaps something we can fix ... .
Please send a mail to support@cryptostorm.is or visit our IRC channel: cryptostorm.is/irc or give a more detailed description of your problem here.

You shouldn't have to go back to PIA!

Regards,

/fermi


Topic Author
JJ

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by JJ » Wed Jul 27, 2016 3:51 pm

JDR wrote:I only recently decide to try Cryptostorm. It worked during a free trial, so I paid. Now, I have the problem in this thread, and see no solution. I'm poorer and going back to Private Internet Access.
I had the paid client installed. Looked fine. But only one day. After this day the next day Cryptostorm did not work anymore. Perhaps relevant is that I did not close my Windows10 laptop. Perhaps the program was not closed in the right way. The next day the app did start, but stopped stating that there was a problem with closing ip6v. As advised, I disabled this in the client. It seemed to work again. But today I have the problem that it is impossible to connect to the darknet.
Reinstall did not work.
Client stops with message "Connection took to long." or something like it. Changing servers does not work. So, no connection through CS.
Is there a solution for this problem? Please help. This is only the 4th day that I have this client installed. It is killing for my confidence in reliability of CS.

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by parityboy » Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:40 pm

@JJ

Try going into your network adapter settings and disabling IPv6 in there. See if that helps.


Topic Author
JJ

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by JJ » Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:11 am

I am having the same problem. CS widget worked once, but after that never again. I never shut off my laptop and I figured that this could have caused the problem. Now, when I use the widget, I am only getting messages like "Took too long to connect". Getting desperate, because it took me some hours to try and find solutions. (including reinstalling CS widget, OpenVPN, TUN/TAP drivers etc.) But so far, no solution. Win10. Anyone?


Topic Author
JJ

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by JJ » Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:40 am

Disabling IPv6 is not the solution. After I did this I was able to connect through Cryptofree. Tried other servers too. Some responded with a time-out: Took too long to connect. Others produced errors about Authorization failed. Token was right. It beats me. Should I try to find an other VPN-service??


Archon13
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:23 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by Archon13 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 4:02 pm

Khariz wrote:Uncheck the IPv6 junk in the settings. Just disable IPv6 in the adapter completely. It's so much smoother sailing not letting narwhal screw with it.
This!

Just posting in case it helps anyone out in the future.
I had the same issue as OP today. Last week, widget worked fine.
Today, nothing was connecting and there was no log in the widget.
Unchecked IPv6 in widget (already had it disabled in adapter already) and boom! Connection!

User avatar

df
Site Admin
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: No longer connecting using Cryptostorm 2.2 Widget

Post by df » Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:19 am

@Archon13 and @EveryoneElse

I've tested tested the v3 beta widget on a clean win10 install, it worked fine for me.
It's up at https://b.unni.es/cryptostorm_setup.exe
Proper release should be fairly soon, just need to fix a few minor (but annoying) bugs.
When it does get released, i'll update the above link and put it up on cryptostorm.is and .nu, and enable the update code for all the v2.22 people out there.

Post Reply