Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

is montreal node offline?

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)
User avatar

Topic Author
spotshot
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 11:23 pm

is montreal node offline?

Post by spotshot » Fri Jul 24, 2015 7:17 pm

lost connection yesterday and have not been able to reconnect?

User avatar

Fermi
Site Admin
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:42 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by Fermi » Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:46 pm

Hi spotshot,

see twitter messages involved:
https://twitter.com/cryptostorm_is/stat ... 5291235328
Our anchor node in Canada - 'maple' - appears to have been offlined by content oligarchy pressure. Rolling to failover capacity for cluster.

/Fermi

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by Tealc » Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:31 am

I'm actually surprise that this didn't happened sooner. There are so many DC's that are terminating VPN services inside their networks due to the new legislation that's been coming to light all over the world.

This is just the beginning, a lot more are yet to come, and this is why I'm a 100% supporter of CS, at least they keep up with their word and if anything is not right in the DC, they just terminated the node, others WILL report you to the DC, just to keep getting money from the others users.


whatyousee

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by whatyousee » Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:32 am

It appears Montreal is now giving out St Petersburg IPs, any idea when Montreal might come back?

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1253
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by parityboy » Fri Aug 07, 2015 7:15 pm

@whatyousee

That Montreal node isn't coming back, by all accounts. However, if the team can find another supportive provider in Montreal we may see a return.

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by privangle » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:45 am

Thank you for the information. Now I understand why I come out in Russia when connecting to Canada.
Our anchor node in Canada - 'maple' - appears to have been offlined by content oligarchy pressure.
@oligarchy: booooooooo! Go jump in the past.

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Same thing with Iceland ?

Post by privangle » Mon Aug 10, 2015 6:58 pm

Hello,

when I connect to Iceland, I came out in Portugal.

Is the Iceland node closed too ? Definitively, temporarily ?

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

PS: Russia -> Portugal

Post by privangle » Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:26 pm

I connect to Russia (St. Petersbourg) and get out in Portugal.

What is happening? Are several exitnodes closed?

User avatar

Fermi
Site Admin
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:42 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by Fermi » Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:43 pm

privangle,

Indeed, Iceland (Fenrir) is redirected to Portugal.
Montreal (Maple) is redirected to St. Petersburg (Laika).
From what I've heard, staff was busy looking for alternatives for the above nodes.

I can connect to St. Petersburg (Laika), and location indicates St. Petersburg. IP addresses are correct, no redirection there.

Sly is redirected to alors (France) atm, but this should be fixed shortly.


/Fermi

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by privangle » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:45 am

Fermi,

thank you for your answer.
I can connect to St. Petersburg (Laika), and location indicates St. Petersburg. IP addresses are correct, no redirection there.
It was some hours ago. Now Russia is working again for me.

I ask myself if perhaps one of the domains xxx.net, .org, .nu and .pw was redirecting but not all of them at the same time.

Let me resume:

canada node is gone,
USA emerald is not responding (11 pm EU time, probably temporary problem),
uscentral redirects to france,
iceland goes to Portugal.

Working are France, Portugal, Russia, Tokyo, US-West, Germany, London, Signapore.

Iceland and uscentral will rework and perhaps canada will find a replacement in the future. It's unterstandable that this needs time to organize.

It's more clear for me when I have the overview, thanks for the information and confirmation.

So best of luck to the staff of CS! :-)

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Russia -> Italy

Post by privangle » Wed Sep 09, 2015 9:12 am

Hi,

Since some days I experience connecting to St. Petersburg let me come out in Italy.

Is there a new node in Italy that we can connect on (with new conf-file) directly ?

And is the Russia node temporarily or definitively offline ?

Thank you for some informations.


mart-e
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:07 pm

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by mart-e » Wed Sep 09, 2015 1:42 pm

@privangle yes there is an Italy node but I haven't found any conf file
viewtopic.php?f=68&t=8816
I read somewhere (can not find where) that Russia node was removed.

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by privangle » Wed Sep 09, 2015 11:34 pm

@mart-e ok thank you.

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

London node ?

Post by privangle » Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:32 pm

Hi,

I experience that the London connection doesn't work since some days.

Is London node definitively or temporarily dead ?

Thank you.

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: London node ?

Post by Tealc » Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:46 pm

privangle wrote:Hi,

I experience that the London connection doesn't work since some days.

Is London node definitively or temporarily dead ?

Thank you.
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=8840

:thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown:

And here you will find all the nodes currently working and also the new nodes that will be produced: https://github.com/cryptostorm/cstorm_c ... erlist.txt (what you really want is under FULL PRODUCTION NODES)

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by privangle » Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:05 pm

@Tealc

Thank you for your quick answer and the link.

Could you tell me what the meaning of https://cryptostorm.is/uptime

is? When I go on this page, touring ping (London cluster) is indicated 100% today and yesterday (at the end of page 3). Is this another meaning than connection capability?

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by Tealc » Thu Sep 17, 2015 10:49 pm

AFAIK the node is working, we are actually able to connect to him, but there is no outside world connection, it maybe a problem with iptables/routing (should ping DF about that).

So the pingdom is actually that, a ping every XX seconds to see if the server is alive... it has nothing to do with connection capability, or so I think ;-D


mart-e
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:07 pm

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by mart-e » Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:53 pm

Could be nice to have such ping to check the connection state of each server.
For instance I got AUTH_FAILED for a few days on Frankfurt node (just me ?).

Could be easy to make a small bash script checking periodically every node (one more w.e. project for my TODO list).

Now I am wondering if there is a kind of delay between connections. I guess I can not connect with the same token on two nodes simultaneously (or can I?) but can I connect with like 5 seconds of interval ?

User avatar

privangle
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: is montreal node offline?

Post by privangle » Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:26 pm

London is reworking for me.

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: London node ?

Post by marzametal » Sat Sep 19, 2015 8:30 am

Tealc wrote:
privangle wrote:Hi,

I experience that the London connection doesn't work since some days.

Is London node definitively or temporarily dead ?

Thank you.
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=8840

:thumbdown: :thumbdown: :thumbdown:

And here you will find all the nodes currently working and also the new nodes that will be produced: https://github.com/cryptostorm/cstorm_c ... erlist.txt (what you really want is under FULL PRODUCTION NODES)
You Sir, are a legend. That is one hell of a URL to have in my bookmarks.
*throws e-confetti in your diretion*

EDIT: Just realised the file is on Fermi's GitHub... e-confetti and kudos to him too!

Post Reply